Gamblers Anonymous Forum
My Story - Printable Version

+- Gamblers Anonymous Forum (https://www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk/Forum)
+-- Forum: Main Forum (https://www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk/Forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+--- Forum: Share Section (https://www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk/Forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: My Story (/showthread.php?tid=10598)

My Story - Flyingfast - 06-01-2018

Hello everyone. I'd like to share my story here as I'm now in a situation where I'm feeling miserable due to gambling and I don't know what to do.

I'm fifteen now and I've been gambling since I was twelve. I was attracted to poker because my dad played it a bit and I enjoyed the skill in the game coupled with the excitement of gambling. I studied a lot, bought software to be able to play better, and got quite skilful at the game. When I had success at play money (which my parents had allowed me to do) I quickly switched to real money gambling under the guise of it still being for free chips. At first, this went well, and over the period of about a year, I managed to go from $0 to a five figure bankroll. Sometimes I played it for very long periods of time into the morning and occasionally I risked more than I intended, but overall I enjoyed the roller coaster. I shared my story with some friends and taught them how to play as well, and overall I felt more proud than guilty about what I had done.